Eurovision – first semi-final qualifyers

The first semi-final for the Eurovision Song Contest is always a hive of activity as the nations gather in the host city to get the contest underway.

Semi-final 1 saw 10 acts successfully qualifying for the grand final on Saturday. The next 10 joining the UK, France, Germany, Italy, Spain and host country Ukraine in the final will be chosen on Thursday in semi-final 2.

Semi-final 1 qualifying countries

The first 10 countries from semi-final 1 that are joining the big five Italy, Spain, UK, Germany, France, and host country Ukraine in the grand final are:

Armenia: Artsvik – Fly With Me

Australia: Isaiah – Don’t Come Easy

Azerbaijan: Dihaj – Skeletons

Belgium: Blanche – City Lights

Cyprus: Hovig – Gravity

Greece: Demy – This Is Love

Moldova: Sunstroke Project – Hey, Mamma!

Portugal: Salvador Sobral – Amar Pelos Dois

Poland: Kasia Moś – Flashlight 

Sweden: Robin Bengtsson – I Can’t Go On

Qualifying countries from 2016

Hungary - Freddie "Pioneer"

Croatia - Nina Kraljic "Lighthouse"

Netherlands - Douwe Bob "Slow Down'

Armenia - Iveta Mukuchyan "Love Wave"

Russia - Sergey Lazarev "You Are the Only One"

Czech Republic - Gabriela Guncikova "I Stand"

Cyprus - Minus One "Alter Ego"

Austria - Zoe "Loin d'ici"

Azerbaijan - Samra "Miracle"

Malta - Ira Losco "Walk on Water"